Proclamation of Independence

Proclamation of Independence

Setting the Date of the Independence of the Federation of Malaya was officially declared at exactly 9.30am on the 31st August 2017. The Proclamation of Independence ceremony was held at the Merdeka Stadium in the presence of more than 20,000 people including the Malay rulers, special guests from abroad, members of the Cabinet of the Federal Government, and members of the public.

On this historic ceremony, representatives of Queen Elizabeth II, Duke of Gloucester submitted the Instrument of Independence to the Prime Minister marking the end of British protectorate over the Malaya. The Declaration of Independence of the Federation of Malaya was read by YTM Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra. Upon completion of reading the declaration, Tunku Abdul Rahman hailed "MERDEKA" seven times, and was echoed by thousands of people who flooded the Merdeka Stadium. 

The ceremony was followed by the calling of azan which symbolises Islam as the official religion of the newly independent nation, followed by the Federation of Malaya flag raising ceremony, accompanied by the national anthem "Negaraku". A total of 101 cannon shots volleys were fired marking the Federation of Malaya as an independent and sovereign country.

laungan merdeka small

The Prime Minister of Malaya, Tunku Abdul Rahman hailed "MERDEKA" seven times during the Proclamation of Independence Ceremony. The historic ceremony was witnessed by thousands of people from across the nation who thronged the Merdeka Stadium on 31st August 2017.


To read the full transcript of the Proclamation of Independence, click here.

Untuk membaca transkrip penuh Pemasyhuran Kemerdekaan, sila klik di sini.

Sign up to receive our emails and be alerted of our programmes.



© 2018 Perdana Leadership Foundation. All rights reserved.